April Congrats!

Send by email
From the April 2012 All-School News

Two Catlin Gabel students have earned spots to attend the prestigious Intel International Science & Engineering Fair in May in Pittsburgh. Freshman Valerie Ding won one of five spots as an individual high school finalist at the Intel NW Science Expo on March 23 with her project, "Shining Like the Sun: A Quantum Mechanical Study of White-Light LEDs." Junior Terrance Sun earned a spot on 28-member Team Oregon, consisting of students who had won in six regional fairs in the Northwest Science Expo System.

Also competing at the NW Science Expo were seniors Gus Crowley, Dylan Shields, and Danielle Shapira, and sophomore Anisha Adke. Danielle and Anisha won 1st place in animal science. Dylan won an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers award and a 2nd place TiE Oregon entrepreneurship award.

In other news about Valerie Ding, she was named a finalist in the 2012 International Sustainable World Energy, Engineering, Environment Project Olympiad, and has been invited to present and compete at their conference in May in Houston. Valerie was interviewed by Andrea Murray at All Classical FM and featured on their weekly edition of Northwest Previews.

Sophomore Lawrence Sun advanced to U.S. Physics Team semifinals for the second consecutive year. Approximately 3,000 students participated in the first phase of the selection process, the Fnet=ma Exam. Lawrence is one of 390 students nationwide to make it to the second round. He awaits the results of a second exam that is used as the basis for selection of the 20 members of the U.S. Physics Team.

The Upper School Flaming Chickens robotics team 1540 is headed to the world championships after winning both the field competition and the top honor, the Chairman's Award, at regionals in Oklahoma City. They will compete for the international title in St. Louis April 26–28. Bravo to all of the robotics team members: Rushdi Abualhaija, Zach Alan, Evan Chapman, Owen Chapman, Casey Currey-Wilson, Marina Dimitrov, Michael Elliott, Dana Ellis, Anne Gilleland, Tucker Gordon, Conner Hansen, Hwan Im, Naomi Iverson, Ian Jones, Elliott Lewis, Alex Liem, Benji Lin, Eve Lowenstein, Max Luu, Keegan McCarthy, Vincent Miller, Tyler Quatraro, Jules Renaud, Colby Skeggs, Eli Skeggs, Peter Smith, Lukas Stracovsky, Kellie Takahashi, Paramintr Tienpasertkij, and Mark Van Bergen. » Watch the video submitted for the Chairman's Award. Previously, at the Oregon regionals, the Flaming Chickens won the Imagery Award, which celebrates attractiveness in engineering and outstanding visual aesthetic integration from the machine to the team appearance. Junior Marina Dimitrov was one of two students to win the prestigious dean’s list finalist award. The winners go on to be judged at the World Championships. Robotics program director Dale Yocum was awarded the Woodie Flowers award, named after the co-founder of FIRST and based on a student-written essay that addresses several attributes, including the level of student participation, inspiration, and enthusiasm for science and engineering.

Juniors in English 11 were assigned to parody of one of the writers they studied, replicating the themes and style of their selected author. Mira Hayward wrote an especially effective piece, which has now been published in the online literary journal McSweeney’s. » Read Mira's parody of Ralph Waldo Emerson pitching the Snuggie.

Twelve teams competed at the regional mock trial and two of the three teams that went to state were from Catlin Gabel. That's a first! White team members are co-captains Talbot Andrews, Grace McMurchie, and Megan Stater, with Audrey Davis, Rachel Caron, Lauren Ellis, Mira Hayward, Harry Heath, Andrew Hungate, Fiona Noonan, Eli Wilson Pelton, and Henry Shulevitz. Blue team members are co-captains Curtis Stahl and Terrance Sun, with Alexandra van Alebeek, Abby Doctor, Ian Fyfield, Trevor Luu, Chris Park, Tyler Quatraro, Emily Siegel, Elise Thompson, Mary Whitsell, and Brandon Wilson. Thank you, volunteer coaches Scott Thompson, Anushka Shenoy '04, Nell Bonaparte, Jim Coon, and Bob Bonaparte '73, and adviser Dave Whitson.

All of the 4th and 5th year Japanese language students were selected for the Living Language Experience Program based on their outstanding proficiency. They passed oral Benchmark Level 4 of the Oregon Japanese Language Project Guidelines. Catlin Gabel is the only high school group that qualified to participate in this special program in Oregon. Other participants are from universities such as PSU, Linfield College, and U of O. The following students will visit five Japanese companies based in Oregon: seniors Cameron Boyd, Emrys Dennison, Lizzie Medford, Koichi Omara, Ramtin Rahmani, Danielle Shapira, Dylan Shields, Lauren Spiegel, and Megan Stater; juniors Valerie Balog, Maggie Boyd, Natalie Dunn, Emi Foster, Spencer Immel, Ben Kiyasu, Alan Mayhew, and Rachel Spiegel; and sophomore Hunter Ray.

Congratulations to the Middle School boys blue basketball team and for going undefeated in league play this season. They continued their run through the playoffs up until the championship match, playing as the defending league champion, and in the end claiming 2nd place.

Sixth grade math teacher Carol Ponganis has been awarded a full scholarship to attend Space Academy this summer. The scholarship includes an all-expense-paid trip to the Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville, Alabama. Pongi says she looks forward to the astronaut training, gaining new space science curriculum ideas, and meeting math and science teachers from all over the world.

Middle School head Barbara Ostos, EdD, successfully defended her doctoral thesis in educational leadership at UC San Diego during spring break.

Facilities manager & events coordinator Kitty Schainman recently completed the APPA Institute for Facilities Management four-year course of study and training in managing educational facilities.The culmination was her success in passing the Educational Facilities Professional Credentialing Exam, which tested her knowledge and competency in the areas of facilities administration, operations and maintenance, energy and utilities management, and planning, design, and construction. APPA is the professional organization for 1,500 colleges and universities around the world. 

Seventh grade English teacher Christa Kaainoa extends thanks to everyone who volunteered to share some of their favorite poetry with her students during February. Guest readers included Paul Andrichuk, Blythe Butler, Len Carr, Li-Ling Cheng, Clint DeNyse, Paul Donohoe, Lynda Douglas, Glenn Etter, Nadine Fiedler, Mary Foulk, Ann Fyfield, Brendan Gill, Peter Green, John Hamilton, Michael Larsen, Carter Latendresse, Jessica Marlitt, John Mayer, Paul Monheimer, Nigel Nicholson, Kristin Ogard, Barbara Ostos, Rhonda Patten, Sue Phillips, Mark Pritchard, Dale Rawls, David Reich, Kitty Schainman, Susan Shawn, Mimi Tang and her 1st grade class, Tom Tucker, Holly Walsh, Hannah Whitehead, and Dan Woytek.

» Return to April All-School News